Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Interview: Donna Goodrich

• It’s been said that writers must first be readers. Do you enjoy reading?
Yes, I even read cereal boxes.

• What genres do you read most?
I like mysteries best, but also read light romance novels and biographies.

• Who are your favorite authors, and what makes them special to you?
In the secular market, Mary Higgins Clark; religious market, Max Lucado.

• When did you decide you wanted to write?
I think I always knew. I enjoyed the essay-type questions in school, and wrote my first poems at 9 years old.

• How many books have you written, and how many of them have been published? 29; 21 published, plus edited two anthologies, and self- published 1 writers’ club booklet.

• Can you tell us what you believe has had the greatest influence on your writing?
It would have to be “who”, not “what”, and that would be my mother, our children’s librarian in my hometown public library, my 5th-6th grade teacher, and my book editor boss at the publishing house.

• How do you prepare to write a book? Did you do any special research?
I keep notes for a long time until I get time to sit down and write the book. I also use personal experience and stories from others, plus quotations from books I’ve read.

• How long have you been writing? 65 years.

• What genre do you usually write?
Everything—devotional, how-to, self-help, biography, etc.

• Can you tell us a little about your latest book?
I’d like to mention my last two:
1) A Step in the Write Direction—the Complete How-to Book for Christian Writers is taken from all the conference workshops I’ve taught over the years. I wanted something to offer all the people who called saying, “I want to be a writer. How do I get started?”
2) The idea for The Freedom of Letting Go came from the fact it took me 11 years to let go of my mother after she died. Then I realized it wasn’t just letting go of her, it was the whole principle of letting go of many things: grief, guilt, hurts, success, failure, children, material things, worry, doubt, fear, then the book ends with The Land Beyond Letting Go.

• How do you get an idea for a book?
I have more ideas than I’ll ever have time to write. I see the needs of people around me and would like to help meet those needs.

• What one piece of advice would you give to a beginning writer?
Find a local writers’ group and join. If there isn’t one in your area, start one. Also (and I know this is two!), try to attend a writers conference.

• Do you have any favorite inspirational quotes?
“We are called to write, and I feel we will be held responsible at the Judgment for the people that we could have helped but didn’t because we didn’t write what God laid on our hearts to write” (Harold Ivan Smith).

• What is your writing schedule like? Do you write only when inspired?
I have no schedule, just fit it in when I can. I edit and proofread for publishers and writers and these jobs usually have deadlines. I also care for a disabled husband.

• Did your parents encourage your love for reading and/or writing? If not, where did encouragement come from?
My dad left when I was 11, but he and my mother both gave me a love for reading. My mother should have been a writer. She gave me a lot of ideas for articles and books. But my greatest encouragement came from the children’s librarian at our public library. She introduced me to The Writer magazine when I was 9. Also I was in what would be known as an accelerated class in the 5th and 6th grade, and that teacher encouraged me a lot.

• Do you like the promotional aspect of being a writer? What are your best promotional tools?
That’s my weak spot. I need PR person! I know what to do; just don’t take the time to do it.

• How did you study the craft of writing?
I took journalism one year in the 10th grade. Mostly it was on-the-job training: secretary to a book editor, magazine associate editor, newspaper reporter and columnist, and attending many writers’ conferences.

• Do you read books on the craft of writing? If so, what are your favorites and why?
Not many. Favorite is You Can Tell the World, an out-of-print book by Sherwood Wirt.

• Are you a plotter or a panster? Explain your writing process.
I sort of outline, at least my main ideas. I keep folders for various chapters and drop things in these folders—ideas, personal experiences that fit, quotations, etc.

• What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have any hobbies?
I like music, reading, and crossword puzzles.

• How did you get your first book published? How long did it take? Was this the first book you had written?
I sent 30 puzzles to a Sunday school paper, and they wrote back they’d like to put them in a book. It sold for 29 cents, and before it went out of print, had sold app. 150,000 copies. The first that sold that I actually wrote was Winning Souls Through the Sunday School¸ a devotional book for S.S. teachers.

• Why do you write?
As my nephew says (a gospel songwriter who was sick for 19 years, and has 25 #1 songs to his credit), “I can’t not write.”

# # #

Donna Clark Goodrich
www.thewritersfriend.net
http://donna-goodrich.blogspot.com
(blog appears every Monday)

9 comments on “Interview: Donna Goodrich

  1. Donna Goodrich
    October 22, 2012

    Thanks for allowing me to chat, Sheila. I have to make one correction (my fault). I’ve had 24 books published, not 29. I think I was including 5 writing booklets I self-published and sold at workshops. Eventually these were incorporated into the “Step in the Write Direction” book.

    • sheilahollinghead
      October 22, 2012

      29 or 24–that’s still quite a few books under your belt!

  2. Linda Gillis
    October 22, 2012

    Great interview! I always learn something from Donna–and she is a great proofreader and editor! God bless her continued work!

  3. Kathleen Martin, Canada
    October 22, 2012

    A very natural interview. Modest, yet instructive. “Letting Go” has been instructive for me. Continued success, Donna.

  4. Coleene VanTilburg
    October 22, 2012

    You Donna, inspire me to continue writing every day. The opportunities you present to less experienced writers, encourage us and excite us with anticipation of what the Lord wants us to convey. Starting a writing group with my partner Lnda Boutin, this is our 4th year. With original members and several new members this season, we are not only thriving, we are celebrating growth and new horizons. God bless you in all you do and write to help others. Coleene VanTilburg

    • Donna Goodrich
      October 22, 2012

      Thanks, Coleene. I’m only trying to pass on what others have taught me in the past!

  5. Rosemarie Malroy
    October 26, 2012

    Donna Goodrich is a tireless worker, editing and helping other writer’s works. She is especially helpful to the new writers and is very kind and encouraging, but still corrects them. Rosemarie Malroy

    • Anonymous
      October 26, 2012

      Thank you, Rosemarie. Will look forward to your return home and meeting at the Cracker Barrel. (Saw Jewell there this morning.)

  6. Cass Wessel
    November 1, 2012

    Always a bit behind, but always get there eventually…. ;o) Good interview. I always wonder how interviewers come up with these wonderful questions. Any hints? I know, look in A Step in the Write Direction, right? Blessings, Cass

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2012 by in Author Interviews and tagged .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

