Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Interview: Kimberli Campbell

What genres do you read most? I like reading Christian romance, suspense, and thrillers. I don’t care if the man is saving the lady or visa versa, but someone has to be getting rescued. You can even throw in a monster or deadly virus.

Who are your favorite authors, and what makes them special to you? Terri Blackstock, Donita K. Paul, and Ted Dekker. Their writing style seems so relaxed and natural. They create vivid pictures with their words. In a scene from one of Terri Blackstock’s books, the hero brushes a strand of hair from the heroine’s face. Yes, it’s been done before in other stories, but the way she worded it made me smile because I could “see” it. It’s amazing and something I hope to do for my readers.

Can you tell us what you believe has had the greatest influence on your writing? Reading and believe it or not – tv and movies. They each get my imagination movin’ and groovin’. Watching a scene and dissecting it, helps me breakdown the actions into words.

What genre do you usually write? Fantasy and Science Fiction have a special place in my heart.

What made you choose that genre? My crazy imagination. Fantasy and Science Fiction allow writers to tap into the unknown. There are no boundaries. If you can imagine it, you can write it into existence. How cool is that?!

Can you tell us a little about your latest book? I’d love to. I haven’t given it a title, but it’s the third installment of my children’s series – Shayia’s Adventures. The main character, Shayia, and his friends must rescue Princess Leora of Sedona. On their journey, they face dangerous challenges and creatures. There’s tons of suspense, humor, and action. Although I hope everyone enjoys the stories, the whole series is designed for children struggling with reading. My heart is to encourage young readers.

Here are the titles of the first two books:

The Sword of Light: Shayia’s Adventures – Book One

Redemption: Shayia’s Adventures – Book Two

What one piece of advice would you give to a beginning writer? Allow other writers to help you. I look back on some of my earlier pieces and think – you wrote this? Really? It’s horrible!! It was only when I joined critique groups that my writing improved. It doesn’t feel good to have something you’ve poured your heart into torn apart. I’m not going to lie – critiques hurt, but they help.

Do you have any favorite inspirational quotes? Um…no. Gosh, is that bad? I should find some.

What is your writing schedule like? Do you write only when inspired? During school season, after dropping off my youngest, I do a little house cleaning first. When I feel the house is not so messy, my mind can focus on writing. For summer break, it’s whenever I can. I try to do something writing related every day. Otherwise, I feel as if something is missing.

How did you study the craft of writing? It sounds cliché, but reading and writing. Seeking out styles I like and devouring them. After reading a book, I go back and look at certain scenes that stood out and ask myself what the author did to grab my attention. I wrote a short story to work on POV (point of view).

Do you read books on the craft of writing? If so, what are your favorites and why? I have a short attention span, so I read articles and blogs on developing the craft. Writer’s Digest is one of my favorites. I learn more because they list vital information. I don’t have to sift through pages. But, that’s just me. I know there are a ton of wonderful books to learn from.

Are you a plotter or a panster? Explain your writing process. Pray. Dream. Outline. Outline. And throw in one more outline. The first outline is one sentence breaking down the possible chapters. The second is a small two to three sentence paragraph giving a little more detail of the chapters. The last outline is more of a summary form that may include dialogue. After the outlines are complete, I write the first draft, second draft, third…you get the picture.

What do you do when you are not writing? Do you have any hobbies? When I take a break from writing and I don’t have a book to read, I play games, surf the web on my iPad (aka George 3). When the weather is nice and cool, I enjoy taking walks or sitting outside (coated with bug repellent). I’m easy to please.

Why do you write? I have to create. It’s a part of who I am. I crave it (not like chocolate…well, kinda). I believe God gave me an artistic mind. It’s humbling when you think about it. The master creator of all things is entrusting me, and others, with a great responsibility of writing stories that can touch lives. Even if it simply makes a person laugh. There is healing in laughter. I consider writing a ministry and take it very seriously. I want to do what God has called me to do.

# # #

Kimberli Reneé Campbell lives in the Midwest with her husband and two boys (13 years apart).

The Lord gave Kimberli a desire to pursue the arts at an early age. She has performed, directed, and choreographed several dramas in church. In her early forties, she fulfilled a childhood dream and enrolled in dance classes. Kimberli pursued writing years ago while working as a file clerk, jotting notes and ideas on scratch paper and napkins. 

Her first book – The Sword of Light: Shayia’s Adventures – Book One came to Kimberli in a dream. Her heart is to create a children’s chapter book series to encourage young readers who become overwhelmed reading large books. As they complete each book, she prays they will be encouraged and challenge themselves as readers. The Shayia’s Adventures series also incorporates scripture throughout each story, just as we should in our everyday lives.

Visit her at  www.hiswriter.blogspot.com


  Click on the picture to purchase a copy of her book!

3 comments on “Interview: Kimberli Campbell

  1. Kimberli
    October 15, 2012

    Oops…vice versa. Sorry.🙂

  2. chrisd
    October 15, 2012

    I met Kimberli in an online writing group years ago. Not only is she a great writer, she is also a sweet, compassionate person. I am so happy that she is having success!

  3. Kimberli
    October 16, 2012

    Thank you, Chris!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2012 by in Author Interviews.

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

