Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Entry #10: Graria

The Flash Fiction contest for August ends Friday. Voting begins Saturday. Let us know which one is your favorite.

Dad flew high in the sky with me in his arms. “You ready, Graria?” He shouted.

At first, I couldn’t believe it. It was my eighteenth birthday – I could finally learn to fly like the rest of Aurorians.

I gave Dad a nod and he let go. Sparkles burst into the air as my radiant wings shot out from my back.

“That-a-girl,” Dad said.

We flew until my iridescent wings could go no further. When we got back to the base of our tree, I discovered a large fluffy ball sitting near the ladder leading to our tree home high in the sky. I picked it up and three purple eyes formed in the center. It appeared to be a limbless beast of some sort.

“Oh Dad, can I keep it?” My voice was nearly a shriek.

Dad’s glowing wings dissipated and he rubbed the back of his neck. “Well, it is your birthday. I suppose so,” he said as he started up the ladder.

When we got to the kitchen, I held the fluffy beast up for Mom to see.

“Oh Graria, it’s adorable. And look! He has the same hair as you!” Mom said.

Bewildered, I stared at a hand full of my long white hair.

Mom screamed. My eyes shot toward her. She pointed at the beast. It lunged out of my grasp into the air and erupted into purple light. It invaded my vision until everything went black. A demonic laughter echoed in my mind as I drifted into unconsciousness.

I found myself lost in ice-cold water. My head shot up out of the water. I was alone in a small pond. In the distance I could see a purple glow. Cautiously, I made my way to the glow, praying my parents were there.

On the way I passed a group of runes and knew what I had to do. “Help me,” I ordered the runes. They quickly formed into a familiar twenty-feet-tall conjugation of stone. The golem saluted me and cracked his stony knuckles.

Photo by morguefile.com user click

In the distance, the glow rose above a hypethral. We made our way to the strange building. I signaled for the golem to stay put as I snuck into a nearby window. A purple glow hung suspended in the center of the great room. Beneath it was a small puddle with two lobsters crawling around at the bottom.

“So!” The beast roared from above. “You wish to join your parents as one of my collectibles, do you?”

I gaped at the puddle of lobsters in disbelief and screamed, “Golem!”

The stone figure crashed through the wall behind me and lunged toward the purple light. The two of them slammed to the ground as they grappled furiously. I sprinted to the puddle, seized the two lobsters, shot out my wings and flew through the nearest window.

Purple light erupted in an explosion behind me. I landed, set the lobsters down and turned to see the building crumble while purple smoke filled the sky. I felt Dad place his hand on my shoulder. “Graria, you saved us.” I turned to see my fatigued parents beaming at me.

“We need to go, Graria. I believe we’re in the Black Swamp, it’ll be a long flight home.” Mom’s voice was saturated with exhaustion.

“The elders would be proud.” Dad said. “I will inform them tomorrow. As for now, I could use a good night’s rest.”

I nodded. “Me too.” And with that we jumped into the air and flew toward the setting sun.

About Traci B

Writer, hoopdancer, photographer and jewelry maker.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2012 by in August Flash Fiction Contest Entries, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

