Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Entry #3: Fluff Gone Wrong

The Flash Fiction contest for August ends Friday. Voting begins Saturday. Let us know which one is your favorite.

Taken in South Africa by morguefile.com user hamperI rushed home with the box under my arm. The neighbors raised their eyebrows, but I didn’t slow down. Not for the likes of them. Would they even believe me? It might appear to be just a bit of fluff, but I knew better. Ha! You might think I’m old and senile, but I’m Miss Figglesworth, and if you don’t know me, then mores the pity on you. Now where was I? Oh, the box!

This little bit of fluff is worth all the strange stares in the world. See, it’s magical. Every night when the sun kisses the earth, the white ball of fluff will sparkle and glitter. The man told me so, and I believed him. Such a pretty thing, really, and I just had to have it. I sat it on the shelf along with all my other odd assortment of collectibles like miniature buildings of antiquity, polished stones, and wooden horses. To celebrate such a miraculous find, I thought it only appropriate to feast on lobster and wine. Scrumptious indeed!

When night finally overtook the day, I stared at the little fluff. Nothing. Had the man lied? No sooner had I picked up the fluff, it began to sparkle and glitter. Wind blasted through the window and shattered the glass. My room spun, and all my precious collectibles crashed to the floor. What was going on? A vortex of wind and light swirled open before me and groaned. I held on to the fluff, squishing it in my palm. Then the ground shifted, and I slipped into the vacuum. I either floated or fell—I couldn’t tell.

Sometime later, I collided with sand and light. I lay there, blinking my eyes, still clutching the fluff. Finally, I stood and brushed off the sand. I glanced around. Walls made from white stone surrounded me and stretched into the sky. It was some kind of hypethral, like a coliseum or something. Had I just fallen back in time? Maybe the lobster was bad, and I was having some sort of hallucination.

I went over to the wall and ran my hand over the runes cut into the stone. Perhaps I was in Greece, but the inscription sure didn’t look like Greek to me. A loud horn blared above me, and I spun around. Gears ground, and a piece of the wall lifted. A huge lion darted into the arena. My breath caught, and my pulse raced.

The lion stretched and yawned. More like showing off his incisors, if you ask me. He swung his large, hairy head one way, then the other like a boxer preparing for a fight. Finally, his golden eyes rested on me. His tail twitched, and I swallowed. I scanned the circular wall for an exit but found none. I clenched my teeth. He loped toward me, and I took off faster than I ever thought possible. Ha! I bet you didn’t think I had it in me. I ran for all I was worth. Death had never been nearer than now. So much for magical, sparkly fluff.

The fluff!

My ticket home. Right then and there, I vowed to strangle that man upon my return. He’d better give me a refund or he’d find himself on some crazy time trip of his own. ‘Course, it could’ve been the lobster. Nevertheless, he’d be sorry for scamming a little old lady. I darted away from the outstretched paw, and the lion tumbled into the wall. Here was my chance!

I unclenched my hand, but the fluff was gone.

About Traci B

Writer, hoopdancer, photographer and jewelry maker.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2012 by in August Flash Fiction Contest Entries, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

