Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Top Seven Lessons from Rick and Bubba by Kathryn Lang

Rick and Bubba have been trying to sneak into my home (and my car) since the early nineties. They have made an occasional stealth attack with the help of my husband. He pretends like it was an accident the station was left there – or that he only temporarily stopped on that station while looking for something else. I see through the tricks.

Put me down as NOT a Rick and Bubba fan. They seem like good enough guys – for radio talk show celebs, but it is just not my cup of tea particularly that early in the morning. My husband and my sons are BIG fans so I decided to read “We Be Big” to encourage the men in my home to read as well.

I opened up the book just to see what I was getting into with my literary choice. The book was finished before I put it back down. The stories and inspiration poured out through those pages grabbed me from the beginning and are still flipping my world around as we speak.

Lessons Gathered from We Be Big

  1. Be persistent in the pursuit of your passion. You may not fit into the normal and expected for that particular path. Consistent hard work has a way of overcoming even the strictest mold.
  2. Recognize that THEY may be wrong. The professor, leader or consultant may know the facts, but they will never be in a position to read the heart. People respond to the heart more than they do to the figures.
  3. Make Mom and Dad proud. Be in a position where you can stand tall with what you are doing even if you have to do it in front of mom and dad.
  4. Support your children in their passion even when it makes no sense to you. The encouragement your pass on may be the fire that ignites the passion of your children to drive them to the success that they desire.
  5. Look for opportunity. You will never be able to walk through that open door if you are not looking for the door in the first place.
  6. Faith pushes peace beyond circumstance. Building faith will give you the foundation that holds you steady even when the storms around you seem to make no sense.
  7. The people around you help determine your journey. There is truth in the idea that “birds of a feather flock together.” Choose to surround yourself with people that will drive you farther, lift you up higher, and grow you to the place that you know you are supposed to be going.

Motivation has poured out of my heart and my mind since I finished the book. The moment I saw my husband after closing the book I told him that I got it. I finally understood the draw that Rick and Bubba had on the men in my life. It took a book to help me understand that their passion and heart opens up a connection – and they have inspired me to choose to be and do more because of their willingness to share.

# # #

Kathryn C Lang spends her days with words. As a full time author, inspirational speaker and columnist, she uses words to motivate and encourage others while continuing to daily PUSH her passions towards her own purpose. Visit http://www.kathrynlang.com/  to see where she is writing and speaking and to contact her about being a part of your project.

3 comments on “Top Seven Lessons from Rick and Bubba by Kathryn Lang

  1. pastorgeorgemcvey
    July 12, 2012

    So the question now is do you listen to them since reading the book?

  2. TommieLyn
    July 18, 2012

    Great review, Kathryn. I’ll have to read the book.

  3. KathrynLang
    July 20, 2012

    Pastor – I try to listen to them now and then, but am often reminded of why I am glad I no longer live with my brothers.🙂

    TommieLyn – I think you will enjoy it. Proof positive that God has a plan for us all.😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2012 by in Guest Bloggers and tagged , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

