Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Review: The Princess Bride

The Princess Bride was originally written in 1973, but most of us didn’t know it existed until Goldman produced and wrote the screenplay for the Rob Reiner Film in 1987. This comedy, adventure, fantasy, and romance has appealed to a wide range of audiences for twenty-five years and is considered by most to be a classic.

The creative genius of Goldman zings a series of one-liners that are so ingrained in the geek culture that most can recite the screenplay as the movie progresses. I am one of those. I hadn’t seen the movie in a dozen years, and yet when my son watched it for the first time, I could say all of the lines.

So, curious, I bought the book.

The movie maintains two narratives, the story of a grandfather telling the story to his sick grandson, and the story of Buttercup and Wesley. The book has no grandpa narrative, but instead has a whole new story line. In this subplot, Goldman weaves the tale of his adventures in narrating the original story from Florinese writer, S. Morganstern. He discusses the history of Florin and Guilder complete with maps and a visit to the present day museum, as well as the sequel he’d planned. He leaves the reader guessing and performing Google searches galore.


Unlike Pride & Prejudice, most in geek culture would not say that they had one favorite character so much as loving all the characters. Knowing that if you are reading this review, you are likely one of the many fans, what is your favorite line in the movie?

9 comments on “Review: The Princess Bride

  1. Traci B
    July 10, 2012

    The sword fight scene in which the repeatedly wounded Inigo Montoya continues going after the villain and keeps saying, “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” Watching how that repeated greeting totally unravels the villain is thrilling.

    Then of course, there’s “Inconceivable!” Makes me grin every time I see someone pop that quote out.

    And the whole explanation of the Dread Pirate Roberts identity is so memorable it got worked into the plot line of an NCIS episode. In the “aha moment” scene where they figure out what’s happening with the bad guy, Tony and Abby riff on Dread Pirate Roberts while Gibbs impatiently waits for them to explain.

  2. pastorgeorgemcvey
    July 10, 2012

    Like most geeks and nerds I love them all. However I think my most favorite line will always be “I’m not a witich I’m your wife!” or ‘Bye boys have fun storming the castle” no it’s “do you think it will work? It would take a miracle.” no its ……

    • pastorgeorgemcvey
      July 10, 2012

      And now you have made me decided to go and watch this again

      • Topline Tack
        July 10, 2012

        LOL Or read the book – just as worthy! TRUST ME – the book is in my top 10 favorite books ever, and the movie is in the top 10, too!

      • pastorgeorgemcvey
        July 11, 2012

        Pauline I love the book but the movie is just such a nerd thing and I am feeling nerdy today.

  3. Topline Tack
    July 10, 2012

    The funny part for me is that when I see pictures like the two in this review, I think “Drop your sword.” and “There were only one or two truly great kisses…”

  4. sheilahollinghead
    July 11, 2012

    The most hilarious part is when Westley is brought back to life and can’t move. “Why won’t my arms move?” “You’ve been mostly-dead all day.”

    Yep, being mostly dead can cause complications!

  5. ceciliamariepulliam
    July 14, 2012

    My favorite words – “As you wish”, which really means, I love you. Just love it. I own one of the early printings of the book. It is so old it is falling apart. I had the book long before the movie came out and then couldn’t wait to get to the theater to see it! Now I of course own the movie as well.

  6. Pingback: The Top Five Books to Movies from Readers’ Realm Poll « Welcome to the Realm

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2012 by in Book Reviews.

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

