Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Captain Spider Did Warn Us by George McVey

Flash Fiction for 6/15/12

Every year when we first return to school, we are asked to write an essay on what we did over the summer. It doesn’t look like I’m going to make it to school this year, but I thought I would write it anyway.

The summer started like any other, with Mom informing us of which touristy location we would be visiting. “You boys should love this year’s vacation destination. Your father has planned a family cruise of the Bahamas for us. He rented a private yacht so we can visit the islands at our leisure.”

Captain Spider was the skipper of our yacht. He was a distinguished looking man with a swagger all his own. His face was bronzed by the sun and his skin aged by the sea air. His eyes were the color of sea water and his hair white as snow. A mozzarella cheese stick hung from the corner of his mouth like a cigar.

He grunted when my father told him where we were headed and then leaned in close and whispered, “You should choose a different route. The way you’ve chosen is never wise.”

“We’re paying,” Dad said. “You work for us and that’s the way we want to go.”

The old captain just grunted and muttered something about “ignorant land lubbers” as he retreated to the bridge and gave the order to cast off. A blanket of dread settled over me at the captain’s words. I prayed he was wrong.

The excitement of the cruise wore off after two days. There was nothing much to do on the yacht but fish or play video games. I fished some, but that becomes boring after you catch three or four swordfish, and I had already beaten all the video games at home before we ever came on the cruise. I was looking forward to some excitement when we reached the islands where a dinner was scheduled for the second evening.

The captain once again tried to talk my dad into a different route to the islands, but dad stood firm. As the evening came to a close, we all turned in knowing that come morning we would be smack in the middle of the Triangle.

I was awaked by the sound of a Klaxon and the captain yelling over the PA, “Abandon ship. All hands abandon ship!!!” I quickly dressed and headed for the main deck.

As I arrived topside, I saw total chaos. There we were being drawn into a giant whirlpool. My family had just jumped overboard and climbed into the life raft that was waiting for us. I ran to the rail and jumped, expecting to hit the water and swim to the raft to join them. As my feet left the deck a vortex appeared in front of me and I was sucked into the air. The last sound I heard as I passed out was my mother shouting my name.

When I came to, I was lying on a bed in a large enclosure. Three walls consisted of a mosaic of places from earth. The fourth wall was transparent. Behind the glass, large gray-skinned beings looked at me from behind a rail. A voice came from a speaker overhead but I couldn’t understand what was being said.

It appears I have become an exhibit in some alien zoo. I guess we should have listened to the captain and taken a different route.

As it stands, looks like my summer vacation has been extended. Sure wish I had some video games.

One comment on “Captain Spider Did Warn Us by George McVey

  1. ceciliamariepulliam
    July 3, 2012

    Great story! Loved the ending!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2012 by in Flash Fiction and tagged , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

