Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Illusion by Frank Peretti


Review by Kathryn Lang

My first exposure to Christian fiction came through the creations of Frank Peretti. I read Piercing the Darkness and This Present Darkness until the covers fell off – then I went out and purchased new copies. Not all of his offerings have inspired that same devotion, but Peretti has always been full of interesting tales to tell.

His latest release, Illusion, reminded me of that same intensity and inspiration depicted in his earlier novels, while still holding his place in the land of horror. There were moments when I wanted to turn the page before I finished the page because I was so intrigued about what would be on the NEXT page. Other moments I read the book with one hand over my eyes (like watching a scary movie) because I wanted to know, but at the same time I was scared to see.

Illusion offers a tale of love lost, hope found, and love rediscovered in a way that twists and turns and leaves the heart of the reader pounding with anticipation, exhilaration and adrenaline.

Frank Peretti has been called the “Christian King of Horror” because of his ability to weave a macabre story line with a redemptive quality. The latest release from him, Illusion, holds to that same level of intensity.

Dane and Mandy are whipped around and beaten up – figuratively and literally – until they begin to see hope and love in completely new directions. The story starts with loss of the most painful kind. It follows the path of a confused heart back into the past only to have the story end where it began.

This is one of those stories that you will have to read to understand, but it is one that you will not stop reading once you start. There are moments when time can bend and the illusion of what we think may be happening becomes the reality. Frank Peretti captures the idea of a moment in time and twists it into a tale that you want everyone to share.

And because I want to share, one lucky person who leaves a comment on this review will receive a paperback copy of Illusion. The winner will be chosen randomly and announced on Monday May 7th in these comments, so subscribe, please!

A Winner has been Chosen! Lisa Card Scott is the winner of Illusion! Congratulations Lisa~!

 ###

Kathryn Lang shares words of encouragement and inspiration as an author, speaker and columnist. See more at Successful Freelance Writer. She is the author of Practical Proverbs, and other books on Christian Living.

46 comments on “Illusion by Frank Peretti

  1. Susie Daggett
    May 1, 2012

    Love your books!

  2. The world DOES have the satanic powerful side that we do not see…Frank Peretti has the talent of bringing those things to our understanding in a drawing way but also includes the miraculous strength and victory we can have through Christ! Would love to read his new book! I have read them all.

  3. Joanne Hios
    May 1, 2012

    Love his books! Thanks for the chance to win one of them.

  4. Thomas
    May 1, 2012

    Love Peretti’s Books!!! Would love his new one

  5. Sue
    May 1, 2012

    I love Frank Peretti’s books…even have his children’s series….I was so enlighted about spiritual warefare when reading…spell binding!

  6. Jo Ivey Wood
    May 1, 2012

    His books are wonderful! Thanks

  7. Yvonne Lee
    May 1, 2012

    Finding Frank Peretti’s books was a joy. I love horror, but being a Christian was choosy as to what I could read. His books are perfect, I’m slowly collecting each one. There great as audio books too. I love to listen on long journeys.

  8. Deb Argo
    May 1, 2012

    Peretti changed christian fiction! I loved The Oath! Can’t wait to read the latest!!!

  9. My favorites are Piercing the Darkness and This Present Darkness. Would love a copy of a new book!

  10. Tara Efird
    May 1, 2012

    New to Spirit Filled Kindle….absolutely love it! I would love to win!

  11. Horror is not my favorite genre, but Peretti’s stuff is usually not nightmare-fodder, at least.🙂

  12. Marlalee Elvers
    May 1, 2012

    Frank Peretti books are family favorites here, several have been purchased more than once. This newest book sounds like it will be just as popular here🙂. Thanks for the review and the chance to win it, both are appreciated!

  13. Kim Johnson
    May 1, 2012

    Frank Peretti is a wonderful Christian author!

  14. Gina Hofferth
    May 1, 2012

    I have never read his books, but I hear they are wonderful. This sounds very interesting.

  15. Linda Loder
    May 1, 2012

    Love your books!

  16. Anonymous
    May 1, 2012

    Can’t wait to read this one and maybe recommend to some of my students.

  17. Connie F.
    May 1, 2012

    I would LOVE a copy of this book! I love Frank Perreti’s books. Thanks!

  18. soapie0
    May 1, 2012

    I love Frank Peretti’s writing. Just scary enough without going all Stephen King on you and always with the reader knowing God and His angels are fighting behind the scenes for them. Amazing!

  19. Marce Hall
    May 1, 2012

    Would love to win, I also started reading christian fiction with Frank’s books.

  20. angela e
    May 1, 2012

    Didn’t know he had a new book out. thanks for the opportunity to win it! His other books are very good!

  21. Kris Virgil
    May 1, 2012

    Love his books, especially the first two. I am currently reading Piercing the Darkness to my teenage daughter.🙂

  22. Brenda K. Hendricks
    May 1, 2012

    I, too, am a Peretti fan. He has great insight into the spirit world. Loved This Present Darkness.

  23. One Desert Rose
    May 1, 2012

    Count me in. I’ve read all his books but this one. Thank you.

  24. Julie H
    May 1, 2012

    I’d love this one. Believe it or not, I’ve never read a Peretti book. Wouldn’t this be a great way to start!? Thanks!

  25. Roanna Wong
    May 1, 2012

    Would love to get my hands on this book!🙂 Somehow, I can’t seem to find his books here in Malaysia.😦

  26. Lisa Brown
    May 1, 2012

    These are some of my husband’s favorite books, I’d love to win it for him!!🙂

  27. Pingback: Video Prompt for May « Welcome to the Realm

  28. Lisa G
    May 3, 2012

    This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness have stuck with me since I read them many years ago. Would love to read this new one, too! Thanks for the opportunity!

  29. Brugette
    May 3, 2012

    Love Peretti-

  30. Anonymous
    May 3, 2012

    Reading Peretti’s books changed my whole outlook on spiritual warfare. Would love to read this one!

  31. Karen Sumner
    May 3, 2012

    Love Peretti’s books. They changed my whole outlook on spiritual warfare. Would love to win this one!

  32. David Kelly
    May 3, 2012

    Love these books! Thanks for the chance to win.
    Reply

  33. Margo Carmichael
    May 3, 2012

    Like it or not,, we’re in spiritual warfare. I love _This Present Darkness_.

  34. Lisa Flood Card
    May 3, 2012

    I have never read Frank Peretti’s books, but I would love to try one! This one sounds great!

    • Topline Tack
      May 8, 2012

      LIsa Flood Card – you are the winner of the copy of Illusion by Frank Peretti! Please email us at readersrealm@yahoo.com with your mailing address and we will forward you the paperback copy right away!

  35. Deanna
    May 4, 2012

    So excited that there is a new book out…very much enjoy the past ones and I often re-read them many times!!

  36. Deanna
    May 4, 2012

    Will there be a follow up to this one I wonder?

  37. Crystal
    May 4, 2012

    I have never read anything by Frank Peretti, but would love the opportunity!🙂

  38. Lori Callaway
    May 5, 2012

    Love the review ! Definately sounds like a good read since she mentioned “This Present Darkness” in the review. I loved that book !

  39. Vickie Childress
    May 5, 2012

    Just reading your review makes me want to go out and purchase Mr. Peretti’s latest book. Thank you for sharing.

  40. merilee perrine
    May 6, 2012

    love books you can’t put down you have motivated me to read this book!

  41. Donna Schmitgen
    May 6, 2012

    Was a little hesitant to read “The Oath”. That was my first one by Frank. Being a Christian I am concerned with the types of books I read. But after reading I could not wait until I got another one. He makes the realization that there are demons in the world that will do anything to destroy us. Would like to read this one as well.

  42. ceciliamariepulliam
    May 6, 2012

    I have read his books and loved most of them. This one does sound intriguing. I am putting it on my list of must reads. Thank you for the review!

  43. Alicia
    May 6, 2012

    Would love to read this.

  44. Traci B
    May 9, 2012

    I see I missed the deadline by a couple of days, but since the annoucement hasn’t been made yet, I hope this will count.🙂 I’ve always found Peretti’s novels to be powerful, thought provoking, scripturally sound works. I can’t wait to read this one.

  45. Pingback: Frank Peretti – Illusion | Kathryn C Lang

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2012 by in Book Reviews and tagged , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

