Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

Flash Fiction by Melanie Carter Winkler 4/6

It was spring, and I knew time was running out. I always put off doing my taxes for the flower shop until the last minute. The books always looked bad because I had four employees I really didn’t need–but I couldn’t get rid of anyone.

I laughed as a I saw my little boy come in hopping like a frog, saying “Ribbit, ribbit.”
“Hello, Mr. Frog. I think it is time for you to have a shower, then we can be nice and warm for bed.”

After he was settled in bed, I sat down and looked at my shop. Then I sighed. I couldn’t put it off anymore. I always did my own taxes, so I had to get it in earlier than most people.

I felt a breeze come through the door and saw my sister. “Oh, Bree! Thank you for coming.”

“Let me guess. You have left your taxes until the last minute.’

I nodded sheepishly. “Can you help me?”

“Of course! That’s why I’m here. You should hire me as your accountant.”

“Will you accept a bunch of tulips for your birthday?”

“You know I will.”

I sighed and felt so grateful that God had blessed me with such a caring and giving sister.

Melanie Carter Winkler is an emerging writer soon to have a book published.

2 comments on “Flash Fiction by Melanie Carter Winkler 4/6

  1. Sophie Dawson
    April 6, 2012

    Good uplifting story.

  2. Sophie Dawson
    April 6, 2012

    Good job. Nice uplifting flash.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2012 by in Flash Fiction and tagged .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

