Welcome to the Realm

Where Readers & Writers Connect

The Sands of Santa Rosa


Review by Pauline Creeden

C. S. Lewis once said: “You can never get a cup of tea large enough, or a book long enough to suit me…” If you are talking sweet Iced Tea, and a book like this one by Tommie Lyn, then I completely agree with his sentiment. This book rates as one of my favorite novels. Honestly. I couldn’t get enough of the characters, and at the end of the last chapter I audibly cried out “NO!” because I wasn’t ready for it to end. One of the problems with Kindle books is that if you’re not paying attention the ending can sneak up on you.

I didn’t let the “Mountains of Georgia” dialect in the first chapter and throughout the book repulse me, as I wanted to correct their English. Because I am familiar with the author, I knew these were not the result of bad editing. In that respect, The Sands of Santa Rosa joins the ranks of literature giving the main character a unique voice and style that took more than the first chapter to appreciate.

This suspense/thriller is hard to put down and has a thematic science fiction element in the creation of a new jellyfish species. The absorbing plot only holds a candle to the realistic characters. No one makes a more engrossing and tragically flawed character than Tommie Lyn. These characters are people you want to spend more than two days with. Unfortunately I finished this page-turner too quickly.

When I heard the news that Tommie Lyn would revisit the character of Cotton Chastain and give him a new adventure, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on that book. With Windows of the Soul, the strengths and weaknesses of the characters we came to love in The Sands of Santa Rosa deepen. I hope you don’t miss the opportunity to get both these suspenseful reads during E-reader Extravaganza all this week!

###

Pauline Creeden is a Top Reviewer for Amazon and the author of The Prodigal Life, and other devotionals. You can follow her adventures and advice at Fat Free Faith.

2 comments on “The Sands of Santa Rosa

  1. Sylvia Stewart
    March 13, 2012

    Tommie Lyn is a great author. I love her suspenseful books.

  2. Tommie Lyn
    March 13, 2012

    Thanks for the great review, Pauline. And thanks for the kind words, Sylvia.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2012 by in Book Reviews and tagged , , , .

Our Weekly Schedule

Mondays - Author Interviews
Wednesdays - Book Reviews
Fridays - Flash Fiction and Short Stories

Follow Readers Realm by Email!

